Log in

Arkansas Association of Student Assistance PRograms ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

2021 scholarship recipients

Dr. Vance Simelton Scholarship-- Hannah Rose

Walter O. Mason Scholarship--Hannah Rose

Robbie L. Lyle Scholarship--Jasmine Morrow

France D. Nelson Memorial Scholarship-- Sandra Tobar

2020 scholarship recipients

Dr. Vance Simelton Scholarship-- Julia Thai

Walter O. Mason Scholarship--Jasmine Morrow

Robbie L. Lyle Scholarship--

2019 Scholarship recipients

Dr. Vance Simelton Scholarship-- Elmer Evangelista

Walter O. Mason Scholarship-- Kaylee Freeman

Robbie L. Lyle Scholarship-- Leonel Perez

2018 Scholarship Recipients

Dr. Vance Simelton Scholarship--Alexis Phongsavanh
Alexis Phongsavanh graduated from Northside High School in Fort Smith, AR and was a member of the Upward Bound Classic Program at UA -Fort Smith . She is currently attending the University of Arkansas Fort Smith and majoring in Chemistry. After obtaining her Bachelors' Degree, she hopes to further her education at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences to become a Pharmacist.

Walter O. Mason Scholarship--Abby Summers
Abby Summers has been a member of the Student Support Services program at the University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville where she is currently majoring in General Education. After obtaining her degree from UACCB, she plans to transfer to the University of Central Arkansas to earn her degree in creative writing and journalism. She has won the Student Ambassador Award, TRIO Summer Scholarship, and made it on the Chancellor's and Dean's List at UACCB.

Robbie L. Lyle Scholarship--Jenny Martinez
Jenny Martinez has been at Henderson State University since the Fall of 2017. She is originally from California and transferred to Henderson to pursue a degree in Pure Mathematics. Jenny has been a member of the Student Support Services at Henderson State University since September of 2017. After earning her bachelor’s, Jenny plans to attend graduate school. She plans to one day teach mathematics at the university level. She is also a McNair Scholars Program Scholar and is planning to conduct research on student success in introductory calculus.

Alexis Phongsavanh Abby Summers  Jenny Martinez


2017 Scholarship Recipients

Dr. Vance Simelton Scholarship--Karen Quijada
Karen Quijada participated in the Upward Bound Math/Science program at University of Arkansas-Fort Smith beginning in the 9th grade and graduated with high honors from Van Buren High School in May 2016.  She currently attends Evangel University and is interested in the fields of Elementary Education and Missions. According to Karen’s UBMS Director Shanna Turney, Karen “has been an excellent participant, keeping up with assignments over the years and doing her best to help those in her community, school, and UB program.”

Walter O. Mason Scholarship--Michael Harris
Michael Harris is a current participant in Student Support Services at Arkansas Tech University.  After he completes his undergraduate degree in journalism with an emphasis in public relations in December 2016, Michael plans to attend graduate school and aspires for a career as a student affairs professional.  According to Michael’s SSS Director Lori Wineland, Michael “impresses me with managing his coursework and involvement on campus.  Not only is he involved with our SSS program, but he has been involved and served in an array of roles on campus in a variety of organizations.  The focus and drive that I have observed during his undergraduate years will prove very beneficial in the future.”

Robbie L. Lyle Scholarship--Esther White
Esther White has participated in the Student Support Services program at Arkansas Tech University since June 2015.  She is Creative Writing Education major and plans to complete graduate school in the field of library science.  According to Esther’s Student Support Services Advisor Lindsey Riedmueller, “Since she joined SSS, Esther has been highly involved with the different programs we offer and is making the most of our resources.  Driven students like Esther make my job as an advisor more enjoyable. I am proud to count her among our SSS participants.”




5820 Asher Ave, Suite 800

Little Rock, AR 72204


© 2022 AASAP. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software